Strong showing for MAPE-endorsed candidates On Election Day 2018

Publish Date

Running the most disciplined and well-messaged campaigns in memory, Gov.-elect Tim Walz proved he could win by bringing all of Minnesota around his theme of “One Minnesota”. Walz’s victory makes history with Lt. Gov.-elect Peggy Flanagan becoming Minnesota’s first Native American lieutenant governor. Gov.-elect Walz will also have a brand new DFL House of Representatives to work with in this upcoming 2019 legislative session.

Election thank you

Minnesota’s suburbs continued turning blue with polling results showing middle-aged, college-educated women would have a massive turn out for the DFL ticket. They helped deliver two new DFL congressional seats in CD2 and CD3 with Dean Phillips (DFL) prevailing over Congressman Erik Paulsen (R) 56 percent to 44 percent to represent Minnesota's Third Congressional District and Angie Craig (DFL) prevailing over Congressman Jason Lewis (R) 53 percent to 47 percent to represent Minnesota's Second Congressional District.

Additionally, the Minnesota House flipped from Republican to DFL control following Tuesday's election with Democrats picking up 18 seats. This means they will go from having 57 seats to 75 seats while the Republicans hold 59 seats, down from 77. The margin of victory in these flipped seats is just more than 5 percent, leaving many of these flipped districts as targets for 2020.

Sen. Tina Smith (D) retained her U.S. Senate seat over state Sen. Karin Housley (R) 53 percent to 42 percent. She will continue serving in the U.S. Senate following her appointment by Gov. Dayton.

Minnesotans cast more than 2.5 million votes, delivering the highest midterm voter turnout since 2002. In fact, every victorious constitutional officer, State Auditor-elect Julie Blaha, incumbent Secretary of State Steve Simon and Attorney General-elect Keith Ellison, received more than 1 million votes. Republican Jeff Johnson also received more than 1 million votes, far exceeding his previous 879,000 votes from his last run.

MAPE members have some success
The 2018 election may have been the most members MAPE has had running for political office in many election cycles. While not every one of them was successful on their first attempt, a couple did emerge successful. MAPE congratulates every member who ran for an elected office. Your ambition, hard work and determination to commit to additional work on behalf of Minnesotans speaks volumes about your dedication and devotion to public service. . Congratulations to Region 3 member Anne Claflin (D), who defeated incumbent Keith Franke by 51 percent to 49 percent or by 375 votes for the 54B state House seat. Further congratulations to Sam Sant from Region 4, elected to the school board in Robbinsdale.

Where Democrats didn’t win
The Minnesota Senate special election in state Senate District 13 determined that the Senate will continue to be in Republican control, leaving Republicans with a 34-33 majority in the Senate. State Rep. Jeff Howe (R) soundly defeated MAPE-endorsed Joe Perske (D) 57 percent to 43 percent. Minnesota will be the only state in the country with a divided legislature heading into 2019.

The Congressional race in CD1 previously held by Gov.-elect Walz hasn’t been called but looks to have flipped to Republican control with Jim Hagedorn (R) narrowly leading Dan Feehan (D) 50.17 percent to 49.63 percent.

In CD8, previously held by Congressman Rick Nolan, Pete Stauber (R) defeated Joe Radinovich (DFL) 51 perent to 45 percent. The two congressional seat flips in Minnesota may be the only two seats nationally where Republican’s flipped a congressional seat. However, two Republican seats also flipped to Democrat in Minnesota.