Members and staff participate in 2019 digital summit

Publish Date
A Workplace Culture for 2020 and Beyond speakers, including MAPE Executive Director Lina Jamoul

MAPE played an active role at the Minnesota Digital Government Summit last week with member and staff presentations and hundreds of other members and workers from local, county and tribal governments also participating.

Photo at right includes A Workplace Culture for 2020 and Beyond speakers (left to right) Emma Corrie, MNDOT; Mark Hurlburt, Prime Digital Academy; Lina Jamoul, MAPE Executive Director; Tom Kine, Normandale Community College and Annie Porbeni, MNIT.

The summit brings public sector and industry partners together into the broader conversation around innovation and service delivery. Topics included Cloud Strategies, Reinventing the Government Experience, Turning Data Into Action and other technology issues.

Ellena Schoop, a senior systems architect at MNIT and MAPE Region 7 director, was a co-leader of the Data Sharing Revolution session. “As we move to streamline govt services in this digital world, citizens are looking for a one-stop shop, that affects how we share data to provide better services to our citizens,” Schoop said.

MAPE Executive Director Lina Jamoul was asked to participate in the A Workplace Culture for 2020 and Beyond session. “It was important to have an employee representative be part of the conversation about building a future workplace culture. Through surveys, listening sessions and meetings with thousands of members, we have learned what’s important to our members. Members want to have input in decision-making at the state agency level,” Jamoul said.

“Professional development and opportunities for training were important across the board but were particularly important to our MNIT members.”

Jamoul added, “We look forward to working with MNIT employees on temporary unclassified matters and utilizing their new student loan reimbursement payments program.”   

MAPE represents 3,000 IT members within state government and Minnesota State.